English Alphabet

English: Alphabet

The English alphabet (also know as “ABC”) consists of 26 letters, 5 vowels (a, e, i, o, u) and 19 (b, c, d, f, g, h, j, k, l, m, n, p, q, r, s, t, v, x, z) consonants and 2 semi-vowels (w, y). It is based on the Latin alphabet, similar to French and Italian.

The English alphabet is often learned through a melodic song that helps to remember the letters and their order easier. One of the variations of this song is provided in the video above.

Interestingly, the last letter of the alphabet “z” is pronounced /zɛd/ in British English and /ziː/ in the American English.

If you would like to learn English, you can explore our English language courses.